LoadSnap vs PaperRoute,
for .
These two are closer than most pairs on this page. Both are UK-built, both are on the GOV.UK software-provider list, and both go well past compliance into running the day. The real split is the receiving side and the price.
Who it's for
LoadSnap: Carriers and receivers
PaperRoute: Waste collection operations for UK operators with 1 to 20 drivers - routing, GPS, jobs, paperwork and accounts
Pricing
LoadSnap: Free plan, then from £25/mo
PaperRoute: £220/mo + VAT introductory for the first 4 users, £249 standard, +£35/user
DEFRA submission
LoadSnap: DEFRA API submission included on every plan
PaperRoute: Production approved, receipt API integrated, on the GOV.UK provider list
Two products that overlap more than most
Most of the tools on this page are compliance capture with a job list bolted on. PaperRoute is not one of them, and neither is LoadSnap. Both start from the premise that a waste business does not have a paperwork problem, it has an operations problem that produces paperwork, and both plan the round, dispatch the driver, track the container and raise the invoice.
PaperRoute describes itself as built for UK waste operators with one to twenty drivers, and says it is deliberately not a generic field service tool retrofitted for waste. That is a fair description of what it is. It publishes its prices, which most of this market does not, and it runs every feature on every plan rather than gating routing behind a tier.
So the comparison is not the usual one where a platform meets a form. It is two operations products, and the honest differences are narrower and more specific: the receiving side, live tracking, and roughly a tenfold gap at the bottom of the price list.
The receiving side is the real split
PaperRoute is a carrier product. It plans collections, runs the drivers and produces the notes for the waste going out. Nothing we could find on their site covers what happens at the gate of a permitted site: no weighbridge capture, no gatehouse, no receipt of waste from a third-party carrier.
That matters more than it did a year ago, because of the order DEFRA has chosen. Receiving sites are mandated from 1 October 2026 and carriers not until October 2027. A skip company that collects and also runs its own transfer station is, in the regulations' eyes, two businesses on the same yard, and the half that has to comply first is the half PaperRoute does not cover.
LoadSnap covers both, on one record and one subscription. Where the carrier and the receiver are both on LoadSnap, the two halves of the movement pair and file once, which is the difference between accurate tonnage and the same load counted twice. If you only collect and you tip at somebody else's site, none of that is worth anything to you and this paragraph is not an argument.
Where PaperRoute is genuinely ahead
Two things, and they are not small. Truck-safe routing that accounts for bridge heights and weight limits is real operational value, and LoadSnap does not do it: our optimiser uses real road distances and drive times but it will happily send a 32-tonner under a low bridge if the road network says it is the shortest way round. If you run rigid tippers through Somerset lanes, that is a difference you will feel on the first Tuesday.
Their offline engineering is more thorough than ours and they are specific about it: sixteen locally cached database tables, turn-by-turn navigation downloaded to the device before departure, GPS logged at ten-second intervals with no signal. LoadSnap keeps the driver app on the phone from the moment it is installed, so it opens with no signal and shows the last jobs the office sent, and a submission queues on the device with an idempotency key so a retry cannot duplicate a load. What we do not do is download the navigation before departure or log a position with no signal, and on a day spent off-grid that is a real difference.
Price and accessibility
PaperRoute publishes £220 a month plus VAT as an introductory rate covering the first four users, office staff and drivers together, rising to £249 for new customers, with additional users at £35 each. They protect the introductory base price for twenty-four months while you stay subscribed. There is a separate £9.99 product called PaperRoute Lite for sole traders and one-van carriers. There is no free tier and no feature gating: every plan has everything.
LoadSnap starts free for ten loads a month, then £25 for a self-carrier, £39 for fifty loads, £65 for a hundred and fifty, and up to £249 for a thousand. Past a thousand it is Enterprise, which is quoted rather than listed. Prices exclude VAT. DEFRA submission is on every plan including the free one, and never metered.
The comparison depends entirely on your size. At four users, PaperRoute is £220 and LoadSnap on Pro 150 is £65, which is a real gap. At twelve users LoadSnap is still £65 while PaperRoute is £500, because we do not charge per seat. But if you are doing four hundred loads a month you are on LoadSnap Business at £169 and the gap narrows, and if the truck-safe routing saves you one wrong turn a week the arithmetic changes again. Both of us publish, so you can do that sum yourself, which is more than most of this market allows.
Feature comparison
How LoadSnap and PaperRoute line up on the things that matter for DEFRA compliance. Items marked [verify] are awaiting independent confirmation.
| Feature | LoadSnapFree plan, then from £25/mo | PaperRoute£220/mo + VAT introductory for the first 4 users, £249 standard, +£35/user |
|---|---|---|
| Planning the day | ||
| Built for carriers as well as receivers | Yes | Carrier side only |
| Route planning and optimisation | Yes | Yes |
| Truck-safe routing (height, weight) | No | Yes |
| Drag-and-drop scheduler | Yes | [verify] |
| Turn-by-turn navigation in the app | Hands off to Maps/Waze | Built in, cached |
| Live GPS fleet tracking | No | Yes, 10-second intervals |
| Capture and the driver | ||
| AI waste classification from photos | Yes | Not advertised |
| Offline driver app | Opens and captures offline | Offline-first |
| EWC code management | Yes | Yes |
| Vehicle safety checklists | Yes | Yes |
| Weighbridge capture | Yes | Not advertised |
| Compliance and DEFRA | ||
| On the GOV.UK software-provider list | Yes | Yes |
| DEFRA API submission | All plans | Yes |
| Digital Waste Transfer Note PDFs | Yes | Yes |
| Full hazardous consignment-note workflow | Yes | In PaperRoute Lite [verify] |
| Certificates of Destruction | Yes | Yes |
| The receiving side of a movement | Yes | Not advertised |
| Commercial | ||
| Invoicing | Yes | Yes |
| Sage, Xero and QuickBooks | Export | Integration |
| Self-bill purchase invoices | No | Yes |
| Customer portal | Yes | Yes |
| Pricing and access | ||
| Free plan | Yes | No |
| Free trial | 14-day · no card | 14-day · no card |
| Published pricing | Yes | Yes |
| Entry price | £0, then from £25/mo | £220/mo + VAT, 4 users |
An honest take
No tool is best for everyone. Here's where each one is the stronger choice.
Where PaperRoute may be the better fit
- Truck-safe routing that respects bridge heights and weight limits, which LoadSnap does not do.
- Deeper offline engineering, with cached turn-by-turn navigation and continuous GPS logging with no signal.
- Two-way accounting integration and self-bill purchase invoices for subcontractors, where LoadSnap exports a file.
- Live GPS fleet tracking at ten-second intervals, which LoadSnap deliberately does not attempt.
- Every feature on every plan, with no tiers to reason about.
Where LoadSnap is the stronger choice
- The receiving side of a movement: weighbridge capture, receipt of waste from third-party carriers, and DEFRA Phase 1 filing that is mandatory from October 2026.
- One record for both halves of a movement, so a load you collect and tip yourself is filed once rather than twice.
- AI classification from a photograph across 850+ EWC codes, with hazardous and POPs flagging.
- A free plan and a £25 self-carrier tier, against a £220 a month entry point.
- Pricing on loads rather than seats, so adding office staff costs nothing.
- Full hazardous consignment-note workflow with HP codes in the main product, not a separate one.
When to choose each
Find the row that sounds like your operation. Where the honest answer is “either”, it says so.
| If this is you | Take | Because |
|---|---|---|
| You collect and you also run a permitted receiving site | LoadSnap | PaperRoute does not cover the gate. Receivers are mandated from October 2026 and carriers not until 2027, so that is the half you need first. |
| You need a live map of where every vehicle is, right now | PaperRoute | PaperRoute logs GPS at ten-second intervals. LoadSnap stamps where a collection happened and where a driver last checked in, which is not the same thing. |
| Your drivers work where there is genuinely no signal all day | PaperRoute | Their app is offline-first by design, with navigation cached before departure and GPS logged with no signal. LoadSnap opens and captures with no signal, but hands the navigation to Google or Waze. |
| You issue Certificates of Destruction | Either | Both produce them. LoadSnap issues one from the receipt or collection the material arrived on, covering the items and weights you choose, voidable and replaceable but never editable, with a code the customer can check. |
| You have one or two vans and want to start this afternoon | LoadSnap | There is a free tier and no call to book. PaperRoute's entry point is £220 a month plus VAT, or the separate £9.99 Lite product. |
| You are adding office staff and drivers as you grow | LoadSnap | LoadSnap prices on loads, not seats. PaperRoute adds £35 a month per user past the first four. |
| You want the EWC code decided from a photograph | LoadSnap | AI classification across 850+ codes with hazardous flagging. PaperRoute has EWC management but does not advertise classification from an image. |
| You run bridge-restricted routes with heavy rigids | PaperRoute | Truck-safe routing accounting for height and weight limits. LoadSnap optimises on the road network but not on vehicle restrictions. |
Other alternatives to PaperRoute
Still weighing it up? These are the other tools people put on the same shortlist.
LoadSnap vs ComplyWaste
Free for one driver, then £39, £99 and £199/mo + VAT
LoadSnap vs WasteBolt
£17.49/mo + VAT billed annually, to £104.99; from £24.99/mo monthly
LoadSnap vs Waste Logics
Not published. Usage-based; quote on request
LoadSnap vs QWTN
Free tier, then £12, £29 and £69/mo. VAT treatment not stated
LoadSnap vs WasteNote
Free for one driver, then £10, £30 and £50/mo. VAT treatment not stated
LoadSnap vs WasteReady
£39/mo or £390/yr founding, £79/£790 standard. VAT treatment not stated
Questions
LoadSnap vs PaperRoute: FAQs
01Is PaperRoute on the DEFRA list?
02Which is cheaper?
03Does LoadSnap do route planning like PaperRoute?
04Does PaperRoute handle the receiving side?
05Which offline app is better?
Comparison based on publicly available information about PaperRoute (www.paperroute.co.uk) as of 5 September 2026, believed accurate but not warranted; features and pricing may have changed since. Items marked “[verify]” could not be independently confirmed at the time of writing. LoadSnap claims reflect the live product as of 5 September 2026. PaperRoute and any related marks are the property of their respective owners; this page is not affiliated with or endorsed by PaperRoute.
Sources: paperroute.co.uk (www.paperroute.co.uk) · PaperRoute pricing (www.paperroute.co.uk/pricing) · PaperRoute digital waste tracking (www.paperroute.co.uk/digital-waste-tracking) · PaperRoute driver app (www.paperroute.co.uk/features/driver-app) · GOV.UK - choose a software provider (receipt of waste)
On the DEFRA DWT Beta
The mandate is coming.
Get compliant now.
Start for free. Get started in minutes. No credit card. Build your digital audit trail today, before the deadline forces it.
DEFRA API integrated · EA carrier verification · UK data residency